• Due to the European Union, citizens of the countries which belong to the Schengen Area can enter in Portugal with only need a valid national identity card or passport for entry.
  • Citizens of countries which do not belong to the Schengen Area must have their passport and most will are also required a visa in order to enter the country.
  • For more specific information, please contact the embassy / consulate most convenient to you. Shegen Area countries are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstei, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.